Bob’s Game

December 22, 2008

Independent developer Robert Pelloni is in the opening stretch of a 100 sit-down in protest of Nintendo. He sums it up better than I can…

“I met with Nintendo in February- almost a YEAR ago- to ask for the SDK.
I did teleconferencing. I flew to GDC and had a face-to-face meeting.
I asked the WarioWorld division, and they sent me to marketing.
I talked to marketing, and they said apply with WarioWorld division!
The agreement on the application states I will receive a decision in 6-8 weeks. It has been 17 weeks!
I fulfill all the requirements- I’m a financially stable registered company with a FEIN working from a commercial address.
When Nintendo decides to approve my developer license application I will end my protest.”

This is something that I really hate to see from Nintendo. Nintendo made its name making video games, while Sony and Microsoft were established in other media. This is a prime example of a company letting greed run their business.

Nintendo doesn’t want to give Bob’s Game a chance because it is revolutionary. There has never been a game of this scope developed by a single person, and Nintendo refuses to allow this. Why?

Because Nintendo is on top of the world right now. The Wii basically prints money, and the DS is virtually unchallenged in the handheld market. The last thing Nintendo wants is change. By refusing to license this game, Nintendo is holding back the progress of the games industry. This is really a pathetic thing to see from a company who’s current console was codenamed “Revolution.”

Help Digg Bob’s Game

Leave a Reply

