My Entry Into Mobile Game Development

January 14, 2009

I have recently discovered Mo’Minis Studio, a piece of software designed to bring mobile game creation to the masses. Their website promises that “Mo’Minis Studio allows fast creation of quality mobile games. It is designed to serve advanced as well as non-skilled developers and does not require any programming knowledge.” I am still skeptical as to how painless the entire process is going to be, though.

The main thing that worries me about Mo’Minis is the distribution model. You do not get to compile your own games and distribute them yourself. Instead you submit your games to the Mo’Minis developers, and they test/compile it for you. They also use ties that they have with an Israeli based mobile phone company. Mo’Minis Studio is said to be able to develop games for dozens of cell phone models, and if this is so, then it may just be easier to have someone else optimize and test it for you, so the limited distribution model may prove to work out. I have submitted my first game, and am looking forward to seeing exactly how this process goes.

My game is a lame George W. Bush shoe throwing game. I have ripped on these in the past, but it was a simple concept that I could throw together to test the waters.

bushshoe

A rapid way of developing mobile games really needs to exist, and I am excited to hear back from Mo’Minis. As far as I’m concerned, the software is easy enough to use, and is very polished. We’ll see if Mo’Minis can revolutionize game creation in the mobile world like programs like Game Maker have done for the PC market.

Leave a Reply

